top of page
  • Writer's pictureiBee

Quarantine Poetry Contest Entries

Quarantine from a South Texas Asian

By: Kiron Ang


There once was an Asian in Rome

As in Italy, the country of robes—

He stood in the streets,

And held up a read

That told racists to leave him alone.


That happened more often than not,

Asians not calling the cops—

In France or in Spain,

Or with Texans to blame,

They don't want to piss people off.


Now to continue my joke,

For ponder and prodding and poke:

Consider the reason

For claiming harsh treason

On people that so rarely spoke?!


Appears it to me like a case

Of people just being afraid!

And as I cry in my room,

Like minorities do,

Here, I try to save face.


Our country tell us that they hate US;

The countries we left don't try to reclaim US...

So why do you blame US

For coming from Asia,

When our President can't even save US.

 

Four Blank Walls

By: Anonymous


Sun streaming through the blinds

Body burning from the heat

Mornings are even worse she finds

Always wakes up feeling beat


The walls are blank and dull

White is all there is it seems

But at least the can lull

Her back to dreams


Days are short or far too long

Not much gets done but time moves on

She only wants to listen to her song

But her homework says “I must be done”


Now time means nothing

So she stares into space

Searching the walls for something

To let her leave this place


She needs more sun

And she needs it real soon

She wants some fun

Maybe then she’ll get to retune

 

Lakers in 4

By: Matthew Garcia


Quarantine has been hard

Feel trapped in a cell wall

But one thing I look forward to

Is NBA basketball


The NBA finals are coming up

And it’s the Lakers vs the Heat


The heat have good shooters

And a really solid core

That being said

Lakers in 4

 

A Love Found in Isolation

By: Sania Zimmerman


That reflection is changing,

It moves about on its own.

Changing your view,

Not perfect like the others.

And stuck in isolation what else can you do but stare,

That funhouse mirror is never clear, never perfect

But always correct.


But perfect is your home,

Your home is your body,

Perfect in all its glory,

Every strand of your unruly hair,

Every mole, every scar,

Every little finger,

Of your small hand.

Perfect is you,

The mirror only curved your view.

 

We Rise

By: Marifer Brenner


One minute we are outside with friends

Amidst so much certainty

And then stuck inside

For what feels like eternity.


The days seem longer,

We miss our friends,

But in every dark tunnel,

There is light at the end.


We can now take a moment

To be warmer and softer

To hear the sounds

Life has to offer.


We are away from our friends,

We are confined to places,

But we can unite by our family’s side

And look at each others’ faces.


We are able to reflect

on how much they mean

and the joy they bring

How they shape our dreams.


So the world

can be a sad and a gloomy place,

Full of tough times

but we must keep a smile on our face.


Because we have learned

how valuable time can be

I will never take for granted

being together, you and me .

 

2020

By: Leeroy Castillo


The crime of eating cuisine

Lots of time in quarantine

Complacent dangers

Sent us to strangers

Different places

With same faces

Caused changes

 

Reality

By: Jose Garcia


That bittersweet feeling

of knowing

of seeing

It has to end soon right?

Is all I can keep telling myself

a false glimmer of hope

more legend than fact

but on the bright side

all legends are based on facts

right?

 

Hey, how's it going?

By: Mario Belmonte


Hey, how's it going?


Are you doing fine?


Take your time.

It's fine.


To be fair, it has been long.

That is, since we've last talked.

It's okay if you're not up for it.

After all, a lot has happened.


My brain's been acting strange lately.

With all that's passed it's turned hazy.

I've become desperate for talks;

For long walks at some parks.


Staying still, keeping safe.

If feels cool, it feels great.

But the interactions I once felt

Can't compare to what I've dealt.


To me it seems difficult to act as though nothing happened.


To continue living my life and forget what I once had.


The steps I'd taken, the things I'd done.

They all seem so distant to what life's become.


I hope one day we can meet,

With smiles for our eyes.

The feelings we will free.

The tears I will cry.


For now we wait,

Patiently that is.


Until that day my friend,

I hope that we meet again.

 

Nothing changes

By: Karla Hinojosa


Today is the same as yesterday,

And yesterday was the same as the day before,

And the day before was the same as the day before;

This week the same as last week-

This month the same as last month.


Everyday feels the same –

Wake up. Eat. Go to school. Eat. Sleep.

Wake up. Eat. Go to school. Eat. Sleep.

It’s all the same.

Time passes and nothing is different.


But at the same time,

everything has changed.


Everything is different –

There are no hugs, no holding your hand

no kiss on the check, no seeing your smile –

For your smile and cheek are covered by a mask

Your arms for hugs and handholding are six feet away.

Everything has changed.


Today is the same as yesterday.

This week the same as last week.

This month the same as last month.

Nothing is different,

but everything has changed.

 

A Personal Type of Chaos

By: Sarah Vargas


You’ve grown.

Time has stopped, but you’ve grown.


From the moment that the sun breaks the sky’s darkness though,

To when black ink swallows the setting, orange glow


You don’t feel much development

It must happen while you sleep.


The smooth hair and bright eyes from that first week are gone now


A reluctant mess greets the screen


Hasn’t that thin piece of glass seen much more than your disheveled reflection by now?


And the sadness you hold - or maybe it’s hope,

Pours from your skin


So many worries...

But maybe they’re better hidden for a while


And the paper stars that flap in the wrinkled sky

Seem so far away


They’re so brilliant

So far

Too far, it seems


And months later,


Some of the blows land softer than others, evidently.

Some of the blows reach only you, and not everyone under the blotchy, unpredictable sky.


Do you hate or love this place that you live in?


You do love this place.


But maybe it’s all the things you can’t see that you hate


The isolation, and the dead glare from pixels, and the humming of laptop batteries, and that feeling that creeps up your throat at night, because how can you possibly sleep in your prison cell?


But that’s being dramatic.


It’s only a classroom.

 

The Public's Historical Absence

By: Kaitlyn Chavero


I always wanted to be left alone

But not like this.

Friends are only on my phone

They're the thing I really miss.

The orange man on TV

He says everything is fine

But from what I can see,

Those people must be blind.

We have all been

Sent to our rooms to think,

And now COVID-19 will sit and watch us sink.

 

Taken for Granted

By Anonymous


Cloth restricting our faces

Each breath feels heavier than the last.

Hand sanitizer hidden behind shelves

Toilet paper racks threatening to empty.


How will anything return to normal?

Are we destined to live like this?


Six feet apart,

The distance between us grows,

Just as i feel the distance growing within myself.

Loneliness is even louder when you can’t escape it.


Taken for granted.

Simple things such as

Going outside with friends

Leaving the house, faces uncovered.


Regretting all the things

I never did.

 

I Was Not Prepared for This

By: Lily Welty


Quarantine, oh, quarantine

at first, I was so keen

to stay at home, to eat and relax

but now I’m lonely and bored, that’s straight-up facts


I was simply ecstatic when school said, “We’re closed.”

But then it hit me, will we ever go back? Who knows?

I relish those days; the time spent with friends

you never know how lucky you are till it ends


Hair dye and toilet paper disappearing from the racks

“Quickly! Grab everything, even those weird-looking snacks!”

Gosh, you’d think a world-wide emergency would bring humanity together

But everything’s gone downhill, even the weather


Harry Potter, The Office

all my favorite shows

“Yes! I’m still watching!”

For I have nowhere else to go.

 

It feels like a fever dream

By: Anonymous


Locked inside my house,

blocked from all social contact.

It has to be fake.

 

Breathe

By Dana Garibaldi


It was about 10 at night when I saw it,

droopy eyelids adjusting

to the piercing brightness

of my phone screen,

opening and shutting,

opening and shutting.


A wail ripped through the silence.

“Please.”

The raspy voice wrestled its way

through my phone’s speaker.


Pinned to the ground

with a knee pressed on his neck,

the man begged for mercy,

for forgiveness.

“Please.”


The officer stared at him

blankly

as if it were his duty

to make him suffer.


“I can’t breathe,”

he pleaded,

and nobody moved.


“Just breathe!”

announced the customers

through that same phone speaker,

bright smiles, white faces,

as they paraded through Target

just four months later.


They bounced through

the squeaky clean aisles,

waving their mandated masks in the air

like revolutionary flags.


“Take it off!”

They yelled to passerby,

with rock music blasting

through a single BlueTooth speaker,

the whole spectacle being filmed

because they were doing

a great service

to humanity.


“Breathe!”

because a cloth

is a violation

of a human right.


“Breathe!”

because everyone is guaranteed

freedom and happiness

in this country.


“Breathe!”

because our personal interests

are above the lives of others.


“You’re Americans. Breathe!”

they said,

because it was so simple.


Just breathe.

Just, breathe.

 

Unforeseeable

By: Aaron Garza


Nobody thought it would last this long,

seven months later, we were all wrong.

Isolated, alone,

if only we had known.

Quarantine, you never ending song.

 

Colors of My Quarantine

By: Li-Ana Ayala


March, Purple

June, Grey

July, Yellow

August, Orange

September, Blue

October, White

 

Quarantine

By: Li-Ana Ayala


Quiet

Understanding

Alone

Restrictions

Anxious

Nostalgia

Troubled society

In bed

New way of working

Entertainment on screens

 

It’s Just an Episode

By: Li-Ana Ayala


It started

in late spring

then with an unresolved ending

and unspoken goodbyes

It led into summer

And that was alright

although the outside was sunny and bright,

the inside brought air conditioned fun time

Relaxing on the couch


Then

August came

No excitement

No in store shopping and trying on clothes

School supplies, not all were bought,

because school would be at home

Work time came

and everyday

it was a struggle

for work and play


Next

the end of September came and

brought no joy

For another week would come back by

October began and something was different

a hope

brought by the holiday Halloween

I knew I could get through

Thanksgiving and Christmas are waiting for me

Fall brings me back

Back to the good times

And I’m waiting for more good times to come


I’ll wait

For the end

of this episode

 

Home

By: Anonymous


My home has always been cozy

It was familiar, comfortable.

I never really minded staying at home,

I have always liked the quiet that

Only my bedroom seemed to give me.


It started off as a couple days

But days turned into weeks and

Those turned into months.

At one point everything felt repetitive.

Sleep

Wake up

Eat

Everyday felt like the other.

The once familiar quiet of my room

Seemed too loud now.


Its funny how a place

You once called home can

Become too suffocating,

That familiar feeling was not there anymore,

Replaced by a feeling of emptiness.

 

Arc

By: Samantha Herbert


In my little kingdom nowhere near the sea,

I dreamt the dead and missing weren’t cheaters

And hoped Saturn would return


Imagining ways one could flee-

Thinking of how far away you are in meters,

Full of body and none in urn


But nothing can be as nice as getting yourself back together



So then began my waiting



Occasionally I would go sit on the grass

And write down my many plans

To leave unscathed, fresh and bathed


But birds would swoop down and carve holes into my hands out of spite


It sucks to be incapable of change

Still waiting on something that is not coming


Pity to find that the missing don't miss you, for who do you think considers cheating an art form?


Hopefully, one day, you will ache in the same way that I do


Seeing your memories are drawn on foggy windows

On the car ride back home- 5 AM Christmas day

 

A Piercing Light

By: Anonymous


A jaded person, laying on a firm bed enclosed by four walls

wondering what they did to deserve this, eager to get out, to Niagara falls,

to the Amazon, to the Sahara, hell, even the park that sits not but a few minutes away.

Nothing to do, but stare at the screen on their wall, their mind, decayed.

Trapped in a heavy bag of depression, with no more hope,

but they see a piercing light, the drowning man now has a rope.

They see the light as just another distraction that big black rectangle brings,

this light isn’t like the others, they’re wings

for a man who hasn’t stood in what feels like seven decades.

They begin to see, this light is a ray of sunshine that bores the jagged edges of Cascades.

However, that heavy bag dons their head once more,

doubt takes over, the piercing light is just a myth, engulfed and torn.

No, he has failed to see that this light, is as powerful as 1,000,000 trains,

it will not be weakened, by some catastrophic, death creating hurricane,

it will not be dimmed by some darkened haunting abyss,

it won’t be taken down by Hercules himself. No, this is bliss,

bliss for many that need it in these dark, plague-ridden times

and this mans last hope, so he’ll pay for those crimes

that he never did commit, and wait patiently for the light to come rescue him

You may be asking, what is that light that saves the grim?

It’s football what else could it be.

 

That Future

By: Jules Alday


Senseless hope and haunting despair

leaves nothing but a trail of trials and tribulations

that lures the lost ones into inevitable misfortune.

Now, in this solitary confinement that shatters my spirit

ever on and so forth with countless fears and torture—

will the curse of this world vanish into oblivion?

Day upon day arrives a new waiting game,

yet how long has it been of me playing them stupidly?

I question the new normal of isolation, distancing,

this sincere and overwhelming feeling of loneliness.

No stranger to meet, no stranger to love,

no one would dare lurk within my vicinity.

How gloomy it feels for fellow humans

to stay away from fellow humans.

Families, friends, acquaintances, lovers, enemies,

how do they do in this precedent time?

Where are they? What are they doing?

Has disaster poured itself upon them

as if it were engulfing raging rain and destructive thunder

onto their homes, teasing their very existence?

Especially him, how is he? Will he be alright?

This plague, this curse, this wretched beast,

I will forever grow to hate it.

I’m helpless and down, growing insane by the minute,

feeling worthless, unable to meet what’s expected of me,

socially distant, imprisoned and lonely,

missing my friends, the ones I crushed on, the people I hated,

fearing that atrocity will live on everlastingly

and hunt me down and kill me—

No, stop it.

It will get better, it will get better.

No matter how I feel, I will await the new dawn,

that happiness, that beautifulness, that peace in the future.

 

Huayra

By: Jofred Gonzalez


What is in the air

I no longer bare

My freedom is like my tail

And half empty is what seems of the pale

though technology is plenty

My health is rather sketchy


My legs no longer linger

Throughout the school’s grounds

As my fingers respond to everydays ringer


I'm not the best cook so I appreciated the good ol nutritious smuck given on the daily

Along with the discretely spurious juice

Calling it a truce what great lunch ladies


Schoolwork seems like a circle, never ending

While life is a line, with something always pending

And everyone within their confine

Say they are fine

For others lay under a stone

Some near a shrine


As we continue to fret others have placed their bet

On the current President after the dramatic event

Those I know have not lost

at least not yet

I shall end there as I shall not abet

And wish not to become a litigant


Despite the downturns caused by this terrible plight

Perhaps

when this has elapsed

We will cherish certain parts as time will have passed


I wish all the best during the current unrest

As I am no poet and I’m sure we’re all stressed

 

The Little Green Man

By: Ella Wingate Leave Anonymous


Open the door

But don’t go outside

There is someone lurking

Not even trying to hide

A little green man

With evil intentions

He’ll jump on your hand

And he loves attention

He’ll climb in your nose

And before you know it

Your health will slow

Or you might not even know it

I’ll tell you his name

c-o-v-i-d

He cannot be tamed

So don't go mask free

 

Staying Home

By: Paulo Troung


Staying home all-day,

I only got video games to play.

Waking up for school online,

Life is actually quite fine.

Covid, or not, I would be at home anyway



30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why is Iowa so Important in the Presidential Election?

Sophia Villareal With the 2020 presidential election approaching, numerous candidates have already set their sights on one state in particular: Iowa. But the question posed by the excessive interest i

1. Melting— A Short Story

The Uncompleted Works of Hal Rosenberg It most certainly was not the first time Cyd had royally screwed the pooch but it sure made top ten. Granted, it should have scored higher in the list but at the

bottom of page